Arusha Agreement Burundi

No serious violations were reported between the Government and the sixteen armed movements or political parties that signed the agreement in August 2000.1 Three Tutsi political parties – the Independent Workers` Party, the National Alliance for Rights and Development and the Rally for Democracy and Economic and Social Development – did not sign the agreement on 20 September 2000. On 2 December 2002, the CNDD-FDD, the main Hutu party, signed a ceasefire agreement with the transitional government. (a) prepare, within six weeks of the signing of the peace agreement, a contingency plan for reconstruction, which will define the priorities for reconstruction and make an initial cost estimate. During the development of this plan, the National Commission for the Rehabilitation of Claims is consulted and invited to make proposals. The contingency plan will also serve as a basis for discussion at a donors` conference; The agreement provided for the creation of a technical committee composed of representatives of the Burundian armed forces, combatants from political parties and movements, as well as external military advisers. The Transitional Government has been given responsibility for determining the size of the national defence forces in consultation with the Technical Committee. According to the agreement, political, ethnic, regional and gender criteria would be used to determine imbalances within the defense force, but the new force would be composed of 60 percent government army officers and 40 percent FDD. But the new force would not be composed of more than 50% of any of the ethnic groups.1 The Arusha Peace and Reconciliation Agreement, widely known as the Arusha Accords, was a transitional peace treaty that ended Burundi`s civil war. The agreement, negotiated in Arusha, Tanzania, through former Tanzanian President Julius Nyerere, was signed on 28 August 2000. [1] The ceasefire generally held among the signatories of the agreement.

While violations of FNL occurred in 2008, negotiations between FNL and the Government were successful. The ceasefire was reinstated and was reinstated on 4 (1) the announcement of a cessation of hostilities 48 hours after the signing of the ceasefire agreement through command channels and print and electronic media; Not all the main parties to the conflict signed the agreement until 2003. During these three years of difference, the implementation of the power-sharing provision began. After the Arusha agreement, all parties agreed to lead Pierre Buyoya of the Union of the National Progress Party (UPRONA) for the first 18 months of the transition period with Domitien Ndayizeye of the Front for Democracy in Burundi (FRODEBU) as vice-president. After 18 months, Domitien Ndayizeye would become president and a new vice-president would be appointed by the G-10 (tutsis). 1 This decision was taken at a regional summit of the Implementation Monitoring Committee, The Transitional Government was formally established on 1 November 2001.3 Out of 26 ministerial departments, Hutu groups received 14 ministries and Tutsis 12 ministries.4 Not all major conflict. The parties signed the agreement until 2003. . . .

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.